2002 Sermons

A Midnight Clear   December 24, 2002

Mind Your Own Business, Jesus   Sunday, December 15, 2002

Living in the Promised Land   Sunday, December 8, 2002

Footprints In The Sand...   Sunday, November 24, 2002

Family Values   [Luke Ordination], Sunday Afternoon, November 17, 2002

A Larger Vision   Sunday, November 17, 2002

The Meaning of Commitment   Sunday, November 10, 2002

All Saints, All Souls   Sunday, November 3, 2002

The GOD Question   Sunday, October 27, 2002

Living Up To Our UU Values   Sunday, October 20, 2002

The Worst Spiritual Idea in the World   Sunday, October 13, 2002

Acts of Faith in Times of War   Sunday, October 6, 2002

The Dance of Yes (And No)   Sunday, September 29, 2002

Friendship as a Spritual Path Rev. Lynn Strauss & Rev. Mary Katherine Morn,  Sunday, September 22, 2002

Everything I Know About Unitarian Universalism  Sunday, September 15, 2002

Joy (at RRUC Retreat)  Sunday, September 8, 2002

A Sermon On Forgiveness For The New Year  Sunday, September 8, 2002

Saving Your Little Corner of Creation  Sunday, August 18, 2002

If You Aren't Outraged, You Aren't Paying Attention  Sunday, August 11, 2002

The Power of Speech: The Sound of Silence  Sunday, August 4, 2002

On Beauty  Sunday, July 28, 2002

Nonviolence, A Lay Lead Service  Sunday, July 21, 2002

Restorative Justice  Sunday, July 14, 2002

What Do You Do When Your Government Feels All Wrong?  Sunday, July 7, 2002

Cultivating A Sense Of Place  Sunday, June 30, 2002

Nose Bubbles and All That  Sunday, June 16, 2002

Our Vision For This Congregation - In Three Voices  Sunday, June 9, 2002

Courage Within Community  Sunday, June 2, 2002

Norman Vincent Peale Had It Right  Sunday, May 26, 2002

Why Do We Have Music In Church?  A Reflection for RRUC Music Sunday With An Introduction to Leonard Bernstein's Chichester Psalms,  Sunday, May 19 2002

What Makes A Family?  A Lay Led Service,  Sunday, May 12, 2002

Empathy  Sermon VI in the Series "Cardinal Virtues for Unitarian Universalists,"  Sunday, May 5, 2002

My Ministry: Reflections on Pastoral Care and Other Ministries at RRUC  On the Occasion of the Dedication of Pastoral Teams  Sunday, May 5, 2002

Truth-Telling and Reconciliation Sunday, April 28, 2002

Is There Such A Thing As Evil?  Sermon VII in the Series "Big Questions for Unitarian Universalists,"  Sunday, April 21, 2002

Mindfulness  Sermon V in the Series "Cardinal Virtues for Unitarian Universalists,"  Sunday, April 7, 2002

Hope  Sermon IV in the Series "Cardinal Virtues for Unitarian Universalists,"  Sunday, March 31, 2002

Daiyenu: What is Sufficient?  Sunday, March 24, 2002

Now More Than Ever: A Sermon in Two Voices  Sunday, March 17, 2002

Ralph's Pretty Good Grocery Store  Sunday, February 24, 2002

Mirror, Mirror: Relationships, Reflections and Self  Sunday, February 17, 2002

Is Truth Relative or Absolute?  Sermon VI in the Year-Long Series "Big Questions for Unitarian Universalists,"  Sunday, February 10, 2002

Temperance  Sermon III in the Series "Cardinal Virtues for Unitarian Universalists,"  Sunday, February 3, 2002

If Pigs Could Fly  A Lay-led Service, Sunday, January 27, 2002

A Call to Conscience  Sunday, January 20, 2002

What are the Sources of My Faith?  Sermon V in the Year-Long Series "Big Questions for Unitarian Universalists,"  Sunday, January 13, 2002

Are the Hippos Gonna Get You?  Sunday, January 6, 2002

River Road’s commitment to music begins with the top-quality musicians on its staff, and with its volunteers.

Musicians

[photo of Clif Hardin]Our full-time Music Director, Dr. Clifton Hardin (photo at left), recently celebrated his 20th anniversary at River Road. He holds a bachelor's degree in piano performance and theory from Oberlin Conservatory, a master's degree in orchestral conducting from Rice University, and a doctorate in choral conducting from the University of Maryland. He has served as accompanist or music director for many opera and musical theater productions in the Washington area, most recently with the Washington Revels. He has over 25 choral compositions published by Yelton Rhodes Music and National Music Publishers.

Our accompanist, Adelaide Edelson, received degrees in music performance from Julliard, Vassar, and the Yale School of Music. She has played piano with the Jewish Community Center Orchestra and Chamber Music Unlimited, and is a member of the Friday Morning Music Club.

Music Committee

The Music Committee supports most music-related activities at River Road. The committee is not only integral to the processes of budgeting and evaluation, but helps envision how music can serve our church and wider community. It oversees church-sponsored concert series and provides support for special events such as the Fellowship Dinner skit and the Minority Scholarship Concert. The committee is also planning to issue recordings of the choir and to broaden its pastoral singing program.

To get involved, contact Brock Holmes or Clif Hardin.

Stuff